Subscribe Menu

Nominations for EKN Award of Merit open until January 15, 2023

TORONTO – The Estonian Central Council in Canada has opened nominations for the 2023 Canadian-Estonian Award of Merit for outstanding contributions to the Estonian community in Canada.

Established and first awarded in 1981, the Estonian Central Council in Canada (EKN) Medal of Merit recognizes an individual who has made a substantial long-term contribution to the cause of “Estonianism” and all that entails: Estonian culture, youth cultural survival, Estonian freedom and independence. The EKN Gold Medal of Merit recognizes an individual who has made an extraordinary, long-term contribution and has already been a recipient of the Medal of Merit.

The EKN Awards Committee receives and reviews all nomination submissions and presents their recommendations to the EKN Executive and EKN elected members for final approval. Recipients are publicly announced annually on or before February 24th, Estonia’s Independence Day. Awards are presented in person.

Guidelines for nominating a candidate for the EKN Medal of Merit

1.Eligibility and Criteria for the EKN Medal of Merit:

1.1 Individual may be of Estonian descent or non-Estonian.

1.2 Individual must have actively served a broad segment of the Estonian community over many years or served a community in which a positive benefit or contribution has been made to Estonian interests.

1.3 Field of activity may be, for example: leadership, youth work, culture & the arts (including visual, performing, and literary arts), academics, athletics, science & technology, community development, political, administrative, exceptional bravery in certain circumstances or other relevant fields.

1.4 Must be well regarded by members of their community.

1.5 The contribution may be based on volunteer work or in exceptional cases in a professional capacity.

1.6 Must be living or was alive at the time of candidate information submission.

1.7 While there is no limit on the number of persons who can receive the EKN Medal of Merit, the award is intended to be selective and distinctive.

2.Eligibility and Criteria for the EKN Gold Medal of Merit:

2.1 All of the qualifications of the EKN Medal of Merit plus:

2.2 Must have made their further contribution over at least a 20-year period after receiving the Merit Medal.

2.3 Exceptions may be prominent individuals who have served Estonians and/or Estonian communities and interests in an extremely honourable manner. Examples are former President of Estonia, Toomas H. Ilves and former Prime Minister of Canada, Brian Mulroney.

How to submit a nomination:

1. A nomination can be submitted online before January 15th, 2023 at

2. You may also submit a nomination by including the information below, and sending to EKN mail, postmarked by January 8th, 2023 to:

EKN, Tartu College, 310 Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M5S 1W4, Canada

or email to us:

• Your contact information including your full name, email, telephone and postal address

• The name of the person you are nominating for EKN Medal of Merit, as well as their email or telephone and geographical location

• A statement of nomination summarizing the nominee’s contribution and related impact to the Estonian community or to Estonian interests as outlined above, and any additional letters of support.

Read more